Picture : Luka Modric honoured in the Real Madrid House with the IFFHS Award THE WORLD’S BEST PLAYMAKER 2018




Luka Modric won the IFFHS Award for The World’s Best Playmaker 2018 after winning this year the FIFA Best Player Award and the World Cup Best Player Award !


Football experts in 90 countries from all continents were so impressed with the performances in 2018 by the 33 years old croatian that he finished with a runaway victory of 128 points before Lionel Messi, winner of the three last Awards (2015, 2016, 2017) and Eden Hazard, one of the best players at the World Cup in Russia!


Luka Modric, again winner of the Champions league with Real Madrid and finalist of the World Cup 2018 with Croatia, deserved his success and kept the tradition of the spanish clubs in this category of the Playmakers. Since the beginning of this ranking in 2006, Real Madrid CF (Zidane 2006, Kroos 2014, Modric 2018) and FC Barcelona (Xavi 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011- Iniesta 2012, 2013 – Messi 2015, 2016, 2017) trusted all the Playmaker Awards except Kaka (AC Milan – 2007). This ranking crowns only the greatest players in the World, Luka Modric (third place last year) is one of them, definitively !



Ranking Name Country Club Points
1 Luka MODRIC Croatia Real Madrid CF 272
2 Lionel MESSI Argentina FC Barcelona 144
3 Eden HAZARD Belgium Chelsea FC 114
4 Kevin DE BRUYNE Belgium Manchester City FC 36
5 NEYMAR Brazil Paris SG 18
6 Paul POGBA France Manchester United FC 14
7 Christian ERIKSEN Denmark Tottenham Hotspur FC 10
8 Miralem PJANIC Bosnia-Herzegovina Juventus FC 7
  James RODRIGUEZ Colombia FC Bayern München 7
10 Cristiano RONALDO Portugal Real Madrid CF/Juventus FC 5
11 ISCO Spain Real Madrid CF 3
  JORGINHO Brazil SSC Napoli/Chelsea FC 3
  Kylian MBAPPE France Paris SG 3
  Ivan RAKITIC Croatia FC Barcelona 3
15 Philippe COUTINHO Brazil FC Barcelona 2
16 Toni KROOS Germany Real Madrid CF 1
  THIAGO ALCANTARA Spain FC Bayern München 1




Thibaut Courtois honoured in Madrid






After Jean-Marie Pfaff (1986) and Michel Preudhomme (1994), Thibaut Courtois is the third Belgian Goalkeeper to win the IFFHS  Award of The World’s Best Goalkeeper in 2018.

It was the 32th annual Award in this category which was decided by football experts from 90 countries around the World and announced today by the IFFHS in Zurich.

Courtois who played in club with Chelsea FC and after with Real Madrid CF realized a great year thanks to the World Cup 2018 in Russia. He was crowned there the Best Goalkeeper of the tournament as Belgium’s national Goalkeeper and a final third place.

Second in the ranking, the French goalkeeper of Tottenham Hotspur FC and captain of the national team France, World Champion 2018, Hugo Lloris took place before last year’s winner Gianluigi Buffon, once again in the Top 3 since 15 years .

Manuel Neuer, winner of four consecutive Awards (2013 to 2016), polled strong to come back after his injuries, reaching the Top 10.



RANKING NAME Country Club Points
1 Thibaut COURTOIS Belgium Chelsea FC/Real Madrid CF 181
2 Hugo LLORIS France Tottenham Hotspur FC 109
3 Gianluigi BUFFON Italy Juventus FC/Paris SG 59
4 Keylor NAVAS Costa Rica Real Madrid CF 58
5 Jan OBLAK Slovenia Club Atlético de Madrid 49
  Marc André TER STEGEN Germany FC Barcelona 49
7 ALISSON Ramses Becker Brazil Liverpool FC 36
8 David DE GEA Spain Manchester United FC 33
9 Danijel SUBASIC Croatia AS Monaco 23
10 Manuel NEUER Germany FC Bayern München 20
11 Jordan PICKFORD England Everton FC 11
12 Kasper SCHMEICHEL Denmark Leicester FC 9
13 EDERSON Santana Moraes Brazil Manchester City FC 6
14 Samir HANDANOVIC Slovenia FC Internazionale Milano 4
15 Franco ARMANI Argentina CA River Plate 3
16 Igor AKINFEEV Russia CSKA Moscow 1
  Guillermo OCHOA Mexico Standard de Liège 1
  Denis ONYANGO Uganda Mamelodi Sundowns FC 1
  Yann SOMMER Switzerland VFL Borussia Moenchengladbach 1



(Visited 67 times, 1 visits today)