Buffon Casillasbuffon



Italian Gianluigi Buffon has been selected as the 2017 World’s Best Goalkeeper in the 31th annual Awards by the IFFHS.

It was the fifth time Buffon has won the Award which was decided by football experts from 91 countries around the World and announced today by the IFFHS in Zurich.

Buffon who plays for Italian club Juventus had won the title in 2003, 2004, 2006 and 2007 and had six times previously finished runner-up behind Iker Casillas and Manuel Neuer.He polled 251 points to win clearly before Neuer (FC Bayern München/Germany) on 103 points with Keylor Navas (Real Madrid CF) third on 85 points.

The italian keeper has had a career of 856 matches including 175 international caps with Italy, has been in the World’s Top 3 over the past 15 years, has been crowned as the IFFHS Goalkeeper of the Decade (2000-2010) and is now level with Casillas who has also won five IFFHS Awards .

At 39 years old, Buffon has played a fantastic season with FC Juventus and since 2001 has won 10 Serie A titles, was keeper when Italy won the 2006 World Cup but was unlucky this year when the national team failed to qualify for the 2018 World Cup finals in Russia

Manuel Neuer, winner of the last four Awards, missed many games this year through injuries but still polled strongly to hold off the challenge by Navas, Jan Oblak and David De Gea.


Ranking 2017 :


1 – Gianluigi BUFFON  (FC Juventus / Italy)                                        251 points

2 – Manuel NEUER (FC Bayern München / Germany)                      103 points

3 – Keylor NAVAS (Real Madrid CF / Costa Rica)                                 85 points

4 – Jan OBLAK  (Club Atlético de Madrid / Slovenia)                          74 points

5 – David DE GEA  (Manchester United FC / Spain)                             70 points

6 – Thibaut COURTOIS  (Chelsea FC / Belgium)                                   51 points

7 – Marc André TER STEGEN (FC Barcelona / Germany)                   21 points

8 – Hugo LLORIS  (Tottenham Hotspur FC / France)                            9 points

9 – ALLISON Ramses Becker (AS Roma / Brazil)                                    8 points

10- Gianluigi DONNARUMMA (AC Milan / Italy)                                    6 points

10- Samir HANDANOVIC (FC Inter Milan / Italy)                                    6 points

12- Claudio BRAVO (Manchester City FC / Chile)                                  4 point

12-  EDERSON Santana de Moraes (Benfica/Manchester City/Brazil 4 points

14- Andre ONANA (Ajax Amsterdam / Cameroon)                               1 point

14- Danijel SUBASIC (AS Monaco/Croatia)                                               1 point





1987 Jean Marie Pfaff Belgium
1988 Rinat Dassaev Russia
1989 Walter Zenga Italy
1990 Walter Zenga Italy
1991 Walter Zenga Italy
1992 Peter Schmeichel Denmark
1993 Peter Schmeichel Denmark
1994 Michel Preudhomme Belgium
1995 Jose Luis Chilavert Paraguay
1996 Andreas Koepke Germany
1997 Jose Luis Chilavert Paraguay
1998 Jose Luis Chilavert Paraguay
1999 Oliver Kahn Germany
2000 Fabien Barthez France
2001 Oliver Kahn Germany
2002 Oliver Kahn Germany
2003 Gianluigi Buffon Italy
2004 Gianluigi Buffon Italy
2005 Peter Cech Czech Republic
2006 Gianluigi Buffon Italy
2007 Gianluigi Buffon Italy
2008 Iker Casillas Spain
2009 Iker Casillas Spain
2010 Iker Casillas Spain
2011 Iker Casillas Spain
2012 Iker Casillas Spain
2013 Manuel Neuer Germany
2014 Manuel Neuer Germany
2015 Manuel Neuer Germany
2016 Manuel Neuer Germany




(Visited 10,236 times, 1 visits today)